our reviews

5/6/18

"If you want to stay in a place that embodies the unique energy that is Jerome AZ you must stay at the Wary Buffalo!

- Dan and Nina, Phoenix AZ

4/22/18

"Although this location is tricky to find, it's off the beaten path and offers an interesting, eclectic view of Jerome and its history. There are lots of little touches added that make it extra special. And the breakfast is OUTSTANDING! Not to be missed.

- Jana, Tucson AZ

3/4/18

“Staying here was SUCH a joy and a pleasure—PERFECT for a honeymoon getaway. Your home has such character and charm, and is full of warmth and personality…plus the best breakfast in town is served right in your B&B.…This will most definitely be our go-to B&B anytime we are in town.”

- Sterling and Lauren, Mesa AZ

2/18/18

"What an amazing experience. Candace and Mike made me realize I need to up my hosting game. They have everything you could possibly need, the place is comfortable and private with unmatched hospitality. They truly take the experience to a whole new level. Candace's breakfast was also simply spectacular. Highly Highly recommend!

- Matt, Gilbert AZ

1/15/18

"No better place to stay...this was an amazing find and we'll be back again for the hospitality, incredible breakfast, and comfy accommodations.

- Rhonda, Washington DC

11/19/17

"Beautiful home with outstanding views. I've been coming to Jerome for years, and this is without a doubt the best way to stay the night. Candace's french toast was a religious experience.”

- Thomas and Suz, Phoenix AZ

11/4/17

"What can I say about this very unique home? If you love quirky, cleanliness, your own private space, many snacks/beverages provided, needed toiletries, an absolutely exceptional breakfast which accommodates food restrictions then this is the place! Candace and Michael are great hosts and I couldn't be happier with this experience.”

- Karen and Al, Canada

10/9/17

The best AirBnb and bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at! Jerome is a great place to visit, but staying at Candace's place really made all the difference in the trip. The room was cozy, clean, and quiet, as promised. We felt like we had our own privacy, but Candace also made herself available if we had any questions or needed help with anything at all. The breakfast was THE BEST. She even went above and beyond to accommodate our dietary needs and allergies and even sent us off with some snacks to go! Candace and Michael are truly wonderful people and take great pride and care in making stays at their bed and breakfast enjoyable from start to finish - no detail left out. If you are going to stay in Jerome - do yourself a favor and book at The Wary Buffalo! We can't wait to go back!

- Madison and Mark, Scottsdale AZ

8/12/17

"Candace's and Michael's place is incredible! It is equipped with just about everything you could possibly need from snacks, to toothbrushes, to coffee, to bathrobes (if that's your thing). It's a nice, short walk to the heart of Jerome, making it easy to get around without having to drive, if that's something you're nervous about. A parking space is provided at their place, so you don't have to worry about street-parking. The two rooms and bathroom that we stayed in were really interesting, in the best way. There were tons of Jerome-related books and trinkets to keep you occupied, as well as a TV with Netflix access. Candace and Michael are both lovely people. Candace cooked us a delicious, huge breakfast…better than any breakfast we’ve eaten thus far on our road trip. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to visit Jerome. It is well worth your while!”

- Sinead and Darragh, Ireland

7/15/17

"Candice and her husband Michael were outstanding hosts! They made our stay very comfortable and they were both really interesting and engaging people. The room was perfect and had every amenity imaginable. Bathrobes, coffee, tea, refrigerator with cold water and cream for coffee, lotion, etc....Beds were super comfy. And the breakfast! WOW. It was sensational! Every kind of fruit, homemade granola which was the best I had ever tasted, omelet, homemade muffins (which were gluten free upon request), bacon...the food was so delicious!! I highly recommend staying there.”

- Patti, Sandy UT

6/10/17

"The Wary Buffalo is an eccentric, artistic, unique, wonderful experience. The Wary Buffalo is visually and intellectually stimulating, comfortable, spotless, but full of interesting details. Details. Isn't it what an experience comes down to? Candace and Michael are great at this, thus the experience from travelers is a comprehensive experience for the senses. My last review raved about the breakfasts. This review cannot find any more superlatives to eclipse my last. Suffice to say, we were satisfied at the abundance, complexity, and generosity of the breakfast. Ours was a visit to the land of Red Rocks, Heritage sites, and other things not necessarily in the Jerome "metro" area. Yet we chose to stay at the Wary Buffalo. Enough said? I hope so as we WILL return.”

- Ron and Ginny, Tucson AZ

5/28/17

"There are a lot of staying options in the quaint town of Jerome, AZ, but Candace (and her husband Michael alongside her) makes sure she is right there with the best of them. You'll have the floor level of their three story hillside home to yourself. That includes a private bathroom, sitting area and bedroom. There is a fridge/freezer, which I definitely found a plus. There's also a bowl of snacks at your disposal. No smoking is allowed inside but you can easily sit outside for that (or just to watch the birds flying around the feeders). Candace will make you a very expanded and tasty breakfast in the morning, tailored to any dietary needs you may have. They have a very well behaved dog. The Wary Buffalo, as Michael and Candace call their B&B is a (very) short walk away from downtown Jerome. Don't expect any big city antics here. Jerome is lazy-paced; bustles on (weekend) afternoons, but quiets down in the evening. It does, however, offer some dining and drinking options and it offers respite from the summer heat thanks to its higher elevation. It was always Candace's dream to operate a B&B so you know she will give it her best effort. Very fast and efficient communcation too. Top rating well deserved!”

- Stijn, Belgium


5/27/17

"We had so much fun and so many laughs and had such a great time talking about art and music and Candace's place was wonderful. Bridt Ellyse and I had more fun than we even possibly imagined we could. We would highly recommend this to anyone ever that wants to come to Jerome. It's by far the best place to stay.”

- Rusty and Bridt, Phoenix AZ

4/23/17

"A relaxing home with kind hosts. Serene and quiet, perfect area to sit and unwind. Candace's homemade breakfast was delicious, I will be missing her French toast for a long time. It's a short and easy walk up hill to main street. ... We’ve never had a better stay away from home.”

- Stephanie, Prescott Valley AZ

3/25/17

"I arranged this stay as a gift to my parents for their birthdays which were over the same weekend. They were ecstatic about their stay on so many levels. The accommodations, incredible views and welcoming/kind hosts were just a few of the things they raved about. My mother is a gourmet cook and was beyond impressed with the breakfasts that Candace prepared. She was thrilled that Candace was willing to share her recipes with her.”

- Kristin, Phoenix AZ

2/17/17

"The Wary Buffalo is a charming home on the side of the Jerome mountain. The outside is rustic, and the inside is warm, cozy and inviting. Candace and Michael are so kind and pay close attention to every detail. There was half and half in the fridge for coffee, little chocolates for our late night cravings, toothpaste and toiletries in case we forgot, and wonderful warm comfortable soft beds. Breakfast was incredible...each day was different and so nummy. Over two mornings we had fresh squeezed orange juice, great coffee, lemon ricotta pancakes, a beautiful veggie omelette, bacon, and treats that were all loving homemade by Candace: yogurt, granola, ricotta raspberry coffee cake, turkey sausage, and biscotti. And Michael was our designated driver after a late night in Jerome. He picked us up within 5-10 minutes of our text asking him to come. The people of Jerome are friendly and welcoming. The artist community is thriving, and we saw beautiful work. Jerome is a unique place that is so fun to experience. We will definitely be back!”

- Rosemary, Phoenix AZ

1/21/17

"Candace and Michael are gracious and informative hosts. We learned so much about Jerome's history over a five star breakfast, as well as a stunning view of the mining camp ruins. The accommodations were beyond our expectations! The bed was extremely comfortable and there were top notch amenities including organic handmade soaps, tea, coffee and cocoa (with marshmallows!) as well as lots of memorabilia and books/videos of the history of the town and surrounding areas. We wish we had more time to explore and relax in this quaint historical village. We would love to return!”

- Roxanne, Bellingham, WA

11/27/16

"Go to Jerome a tourist, leave a local. This place really makes you feel at home. Candace and Michael were great hosts with the most comfy accommodations and the best breakfast I've had in awhile. So good I left with typed up recipes and leftovers.....yum! So glad everything was booked up because this is my new hangout every time I come back. Do not pass this one up. I told you so!”

- Christy, Phoenix AZ

11/26/16

"Candace and Michael were excellent hosts! We arrived around dinner time on Thanksgiving (which, thinking back, was not the best plan we've ever made, logistically) and we were incredibly grateful that Candace and Michael invited us up to join their meal since all the places up in Jerome were closed (as you might expect on Thanksgiving). The accommodations were snug, but perfect for our group of 3. Jerome is up in the mountains outside Sedona, about 30-45 minutes drive from Red Rocks, which was great because we weren't really interested in staying in the heart of Sedona. Jerome itself is small, but also has a few good options for food (as long as you aren't looking on Thanksgiving). Candace also made a delicious warm breakfast for us each morning, which far out-shined any hotel breakfast I've had to date. Overall, I'd highly recommend staying at the Wary Buffalo B&B if you are traveling through Sedona.”

- Kathryn, Sunnyvale CA

10/23/16

"We have stayed in Jerome several times, but our usual places were booked. This turned out to be fortunate, for it led us to The Wary Buffalo -- our new go-to place to stay. Candace and Michael have seen to so many details that really make their space a one-of-a-kind. From the white noise machine to the flashlights for going into town at night to the coasters with that adorable buffalo logo, your stay is enhanced, safe and comfortable. But the topper is Candace's breakfast, which we enjoyed along with compelling conversation with our hosts. If you're looking for a quintessential Jerome experience, book this place!”

- Liz and Steve, Phoenix AZ

10/8/16

"This was our first Bed and Breakfast and it was absolutely awesome. Very clean and comfortable. She made us feel like family. They had so many interesting books on Jerome. Breakfast was out of this world. She made everything from scratch. Not your reagular breakfast. Then the view, speechless. We definitely will stay there again.”

- Robyn, Wickenburg AZ

9/17/16

"Candace and Michael were fantastic hosts and provided a great place for us to stay. The house was quaint and quiet, but still very close to everything else in Jerome. Breakfast was on par with some of the finest I've had, and the view had me wanting to stay another night.”

- David, Arlington VA

8/7/16

"A really wonderful stay, great hosts and a great house in a fantastic location. Jerome itself is also wonderful, quirky and interesting. I can't speak highly enough of our hosts. This was one of the highlights of our holiday in the US. The breakfast was simply the best we have had in the US ever! Many Thanks!”

- Bernard and Zoe, Wales

7/31/16

“I will remember that breakfast for the rest of my life!”

- Selina and Amber, Phoenix

7/3/16

"My wife and I stayed at the Wary Buffalo over the 4th of July weekend. This is a wonderful and quirky place to stay while in the Jerome, Sedona, Cottonwood area. Michael and Candace are gracious hosts, and one does not know where to begin to describe the daily breakfasts they offer. Creme Bruele French Toast, not to die for, but to live another day for. Fresh fruit and home made yogurt, home made granola, home made scones....home made delicious and plentiful. I do not believe you can find a better breakfast in the region if not the state. Opulent, rich, and ultimately satisfying. Oh, and the view while you are eating is wonderful. The house is multi leveled, with 2 decks available to us, the lower, a wonderful tranquil place to watch the Mogollon Rim light up at sunset with a bottle of wine. The lower level interior rooms are spotless, with bathroom amenities in case you forgot yours. You will have a refrigerator, chocolates, free wi-fi and a comfy bed with many pillows upon which to rest your weary head. They share a great fine art library in the guest bedroom. Not so much to do with the lodging, but a great experience nevertheless...Candace invited us to a bar in Jerome Saturday night to hear her sing with the house band. The band was great and had the place on fire. There was no room on the dance floor, and the vibe was jumpin'. The easy and short walk home that night revealed a night sky that included the Milky Way, and a plethora of stars that was stunning. There is just too many interesting things to list, but an attempt includes, feral chickens and roosters running around, pecking at the ground and crowing delightfully, found objects around every corner of the yard, including rusty metal parts, bike parts, bones, and an eclectic assortment of outsider artist expression at every turn. While this remote nature of the Wary Buffalo may confuse, it's just steps from the main streets of Jerome, secluded, quiet, and intimate. Definitely returning, and cannot wait to see what's for breakfast!”

- Ron and Ginny, Tucson AZ

6/25/16

"My wife and I loved our stay at The Wary Buffalo. Candace was a lovely host and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. The star gazing on their upper deck was absolutely amazing and made our time there that much more enjoyable. Bring your appetite because breakfast is delicious and you'll want to eat it all! One of the best places I've ever been. We will definitely be back!”

- Wes and Aryn, San Diego CA

5/30/16

"Outstanding in every way. Every amenity you could think of robes,coffee, tea , cold water, chocolate, - like a five star hotel. This topped of by a delicious breakfast and a host and hostess who were gracious and full of interesting info about Jerome. Truly an Airbnb gem.”

- Sandy, Phoenix AZ

5/29/16

“… One of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had in my life… Pina Colada French Toast, yum!”

- Natalia, San Francisco CA

4/1/16

“Michael and Candace were the best hosts I’ve ever experienced on AirBnb or hotel alike. The apartment was immaculate with everything you could ever need on a trip. The food was delicious and nutritious, and we couldn’t have had better at a five-star joint. The conversation was stimulating, intriguing and entertaining. We could not have received that anywhere else.”

- Mac, Phoenix AZ

1/2/16

“Candace and Michael are first class. Our first experience with a B&B and definitely will be back. Beautiful house and really makes you feel at home. We will definitely recommend this to all of our friends and we will be back. Breakfast was amazing.”

- Julee and Tim, Mesa AZ

12/31/15

“Thank you for the wonderful conversation, yummy breakfast and comfy bed!”

- Lee, Laura, Olivia & Will, Tucson AZ

12/28/15

"Great hosts - warm & friendly, who know and love Jerome. Comfortable bed and set of rooms, wonderful snacks and breakfast. Once oriented, it was an easy (if vertical) walk up to Main Street. Very friendly dogs and kitty. Loved all the art and decor - it felt like I was in a gallery.”

- Anna and D.J., Boulder CO

12/27/15

“Thank you so much for the wonderful stay in Jerome! Candace and Michael were such wonderful and welcoming hosts and immediately made us feel at home. The home is so unique and filled with wonder, and your animals were such a treat! Thank you for “shuttling” us into town for dinner and to experience live music at The Spirit Room - really going the extra mile! Breakfast was lovely and our only regret is not getting to stay over another night! Thanks so much.”

- Ken and Kendra, Calgary AB, Canada

11/29/15

“What a delight The Wary Buffalo is! Certainly our lives have been made richer by meeting you Candace, Michael, O’Keeffe, Teddy and Mo Cuishle. Thank you for all your kindness and inspiration! Until we meet again …”

- Lisa and Doug, Sunland CA

11/28/15

”Candace and Mike were wonderful hosts! The space was very private with a comfy bed and the location right below town couldn't be better. We felt so welcome and they cooked us a delicious breakfast! We'll definitely stay again next time we visit Jerome."

- Kellen and Sam

11/22/15

“Candace and Mike considered every detail to make our stay comfortable. From the tea set up to the incredible breakfast, it ended up being the perfect place. The house is just a quick walk down the hill from town and if you're not in a walking mood or don't like the dark, they were kind enough to offer to shuttle us too. They do have pets, so if you're allergic, you might run into some trouble, but if you're animal lovers like us, it makes the stay even more charming!"

- Kim and Bucky

The Wary Buffalo 2015